The Making of a Tradition

Last year, inspired by Mariëlle from Magical Daydream I put 91 postcards into stranger’s mailboxes.  I wrote on each one “I don’t know you and you don’t know me, but I wish you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!“ and then I choose a retirement home and put them in their mailboxes hoping to make at least one person smile for Christmas.

I wasn’t sure if I should ever share as it was supposed to be a kind gesture and not a glory gesture, however I thought that the more people do gestures like this, the better we will evolve as a society.

This year, while going through my pile of paper supplies I found quite a large number of cards I have been saving, but realized I will not use  them this year as I was actually planning on designing and making my own creations. So once again, I decided to write all the cards I had in the house and spread the Christmas wishes through the mailboxes.

I really liked the whole experience, gathering the cards, writing them, imagining people smiling when they open them… So I think I will keep doing this and create my own family tradition. Do yo have any similar family tradition? If not, and if you like this idea, you got the whole next year to get inspired and create your own or, if you’re not the artsy type, you can just put your own personal spin on this one!

Now, as I have been working hard at making sure I follow my instincts and listen to my inspiration when it comes, this year I made my own cards. Here is a peek at what my inspiration lead me to. 🙂

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a lovely time together with family and friends!

Thank you for dropping by,

Till next time!

5 comments

  1. My mother always secretly adopted a needy child for Christmas every year, and it was years before I found out she was doing it. She inspired me to want to have my own holiday tradition, but it never panned out, for some reason. Things I came up with just didn’t feel right for me… until now.

    Thank you! And bless you. 🙂

    • dynasticqueen thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that what I wrote about inspires other people.
      I hope you’ll have fun with this and I would more than love to hear next year about how your tradition took shape.
      Hope you have a lovely and warm (soul wise and also weather wise if that is something you wish for 😉 ) Holiday season!

      • Thanks, Dino. I’m really looking forward to it. I can be a terrible procrastinator sometimes, so if I’m smart, I’ll start my planning in late summer, LOL~ (no kidding!) I forgot to also say that your pictures of the project are gorgeous and had a longtime crafter like me hog-tied before I could say “card stock.” Happy, safe holidays to you and yours! 🙂

      • Hahaha, I was saying the same thing yesterday. I would have liked to make more, but It would have taken all night to write all the cards I wanted. So for next year, the plan is to start earlier and write a few cards each month so I can have them done by Christmas. 😀
        Thank you for your appreciation of the pictures.

  2. Pingback: Words, wishes and traditions | THE WORLD OF A DINOSAUR

Leave a Reply

