Magical Daydream and the Month of Kindness

Somewhere last year, while browsing the internet I found this amazing video, where you can see how a girl makes 1000 cranes and gives them away to strangers as random acts of kindness.

The video belongs to Magical Daydream, the blog of Mariëlle, a lovely Dutch girl which loves to create beautiful things.

I though it was one of the most amazing things ever. It felt right, it felt so right. Most commonly the first thing when one thinks of doing things like this is fear, fear of other people’s reactions. My opinion is that this is a side effect of today’s society which teaches us to be cautious and to fear people. I am not saying that there is no truth in teaching one’s kids not to talk to strangers. I am saying that people are nice and that we need to give them a chance before isolating ourselves in tiny worlds.

Fast forward …

A while ago, my mother in law gave me a big pile of postcards, old fashioned postcards, but in very good condition. I had no idea what to do with them, but they were really nice so I saved them.

In December, while cleaning through my craft supplies I found them and remembered the crane video. Inspired by that and the Valentine Cards post from the same blog I finally knew what to do with all 81 of them.  I wrote on each card ( in Dutch ) 

“I don’t know you and you don’t know me, but I wish you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

and then I put them in the mailboxes of a retirement house. The funny thing is that when I delivered them I discovered I was short of about 10 cards. Leaving 10 apartments without cards while the rest of the building received one didn’t sit right with me. So the next day I bought new ones, wrote them and delivered them. 

I did not post this until now as I oscillated between keeping it to myself and the fact that I did not feel the story fitted in my blog. I know it sounds superficial and foolish, but I think I the truth is that I was afraid of exposing myself to the world of internet.
What convinced me was this post from Magical Daydream about the Month of Kindness. Through this I would like to thank her for the inspiration and  for her beautiful creations.

7 comments

  1. I love this! And it makes me so so happy that my post played a minor role in the fact that you went out to make others happy as well! What a great use for those postcards 🙂 And so sweet of you to buy extra ones for the rest. Have you tried to add this post to the creative kindness month link-up yet? Because it fits perfectly and I am sure others would love to read about your story as well 🙂

    • Hi Marielle,
      Thank you for your nice words.
      To tell you the truth, I didn’t really see the link button when I went through the post. But now that you told me, I have added it. 🙂

  2. This is great! I love that Marielle’s link-up prompted you to share this with the world. I think this was a wonderful project. And the more you do things like this, the more comfortable you get with interacting with strangers and their potential reactions. Keep it up!

  3. Pingback: Treasure Hunt | THE WORLD OF A DINOSAUR

  4. Pingback: THE WORLD OF A DINOSAUR

  5. Pingback: Words, wishes and traditions | THE WORLD OF A DINOSAUR

Leave a Reply

